Xian Janssen Pharmaceutical Ltd.

A Legacy of 30 years in China

Founded in 1985, Xian Janssen Pharmaceutical Ltd. is one of China’s largest pharmaceutical joint ventures. It is also one of the earliest multinational pharmaceutical companies to enter China after China’s Economic Reform. Over the past 30 years, the company has steadily developed to become the leading pharmaceutical company in China.

The legacy of Xian Janssen started with Dr. Paul Janssen. Dr. Paul was a Belgian scientist of international allure. Dr. Paul believed in risk taking, being proactive and driving for constant innovation. He once said that “When you make a friend in China, it is for life. Personally, I have had nothing but good contacts with the Chinese.”

Today, Xian Janssen is a member of the Johnson & Johnson family of companies. Johnson & Johnson is the most broadly based manufacturer of health care products, as well as a provider of related services, for the consumer, pharmaceutical, and medical devices and diagnostics markets. Recently, with the acquisition of Crucell, Johnson & Johnson has also entered the vaccine market.

Devoted to Science, Dedicated to Health

Since its establishment, Xian Janssen is dedicated to introducing and producing many innovative and high-quality products. Its products include non-prescription drugs which have been widely trusted by patients, such as Motilium, Daktarin, and Xisimin, as well as many high quality prescription drugs, such as VELCADE® and SUSTENNA®. These products serve as treatments for many diseases including psychiatric, neurologic, gastrointestinal, oncology and antifungal diseases.

Leveraging Johnson & Johnson’s global strengths in research and development, Xian Janssen has introduced innovative, patented products, such as SUSTENNA®, the first once-a-month injectable treatment for the acute and maintenance treatment of schizophrenia, anti-psychotic drug INVEGA®, advanced biological agent REMICADE®, and , all of which help patients to improve the quality of their lives.

Xian Janssen has also collaborated with the Chinese medical profession to develop many international centers for clinical research, both in China and globally, focusing on disease research that has not been conquered, such as AIDS and oncology.

Yin Ai Er Sheng

Based on the company’s credo and spirit of caring, Xian Janssen has been an active corporate citizen conducting over fifty cooperative projects in the areas of medicine, public health, medical R&D and corporate social responsibility. As an example, Xian Janssen cooperated with International Health Exchange and Cooperation Center of Ministry of Health to create the “Wu Jieping Medical Research Award & Paul Janssen Pharmaceutical Research Award” to encourage innovation amongst medical and pharmaceutical professionals. So far, 305 talented medical and pharmaceutical professionals in 45 specialty areas all over China have benefited from these awards over the past 16 years, achieving a host of valuable innovations in the field of scientific research.

Xian Janssen is also known for being a cradle for talent development in the pharmaceutical industry. In 1999, Xian Janssen was rewarded by the Chinese version of Fortune magazine as one of "the top ten most admired foreign-funded enterprises in China." It also received accolades in 2005 from CCTV as a “Best Employer”, and won the "Best Employers in China's College Students Award" in 2008, 2009 and 2010.

Investing in the Future

Xian Janssen continues to invest for the future, to launch and plan for new medicines to increase the product portfolio in the areas of biologics, cardiology, rheumatology and urology. The company is committed to tapping the potential that these new medicines will bring for improvement to healthcare in China for Chinese patients.

Xian Janssen manages the business for the long term, following the ethical principles embodied in the Credo. Together, these are the enablers for many of the company’s successes in the past, and will be the enablers for the company’s growth in the future.

About Dr. Paul Janssen & Janssen Pharmaceutical

It all started precisely 59 years ago, in a simple laboratory on the third floor of Dr. Paul Janssen’s parents’ business in Turnhout. The example set by his father, Dr Constant Janssen, stimulated his interest but at the same time turned his thoughts to new and even more ambitious ideas. Despite skepticism and even overt disapproval from some quarters, the young doctor seized the opportunity to give his goals and ideals concrete form: to set up a completely independent and self-supporting research laboratory. Conditions in the early 1950s were quite favorable because medicine had quickly gained momentum after the Second World War. The risks, however, were huge and the modest resources at his disposal made the chances of success marginal. Nevertheless, with his sound scientific grounding, the unshakeable conviction that he would realize his dream and the wholehearted support and confidence of his parents, Dr Paul stubbornly persevered.

Today, Dr. Paul Janssen and thousands of co-workers and former co-workers all over the world can look back on an extremely successful company that has spanned five decades. One that, with more than 40 foreign affiliates, has grown into a truly global concern and in many fields has become an indispensable cornerstone of Johnson & Johnson. Hopes and ideals that many people considered impossible back in 1953 have thus been realized: from its originally modest base in the Kempen region of northeast Belgium, Janssen Pharmaceutica has conquered the world and made an exceptional contribution to many fields of healthcare. Day after day, millions of patients in almost every part of the world derive benefit from the drugs discovered, developed and produced in Beerse.

For more information about Xian-Janssen, please see www.xian-janssen.com.cn.

西安杨森制药有限公司

在中国拥有30年的发展历史

成立于1985年的西安杨森制药有限公司(“西安杨森”)是中国最大的制药合资企业之一。西安杨森也是中国改革开放以来进入中国的最早一批制药公司之一。在过去30年中,西安杨森稳步发展成为国内领先的制药公司。

保罗•杨森博士开创了西安杨森。保罗博士是一位具有国际魅力的比利时科学家。保罗博士勇于冒险、高瞻远瞩并追求不断创新。他曾说过:“当你在中国结识朋友时,你们将成为终生至交。就我个人而言,我唯一珍贵的东西是与中国人民的友谊。”

西安杨森是强生公司的一员。强生公司是世界上最具综合性、业务分布范围最广的健康护理产品制造商和服务商,为消费品、制药以及医疗器材和诊断产品的市场提供种类繁多的产品和服务。强生近期收购了Crucell,从此进入了疫苗市场。

忠实于科学,献身于健康

从创立之初,西安杨森就致力于引进和生产许多创新产品和高质量产品。西安杨森的产品包括深受广大患者信赖的非处方药,例如吗丁啉®、达克宁®和息斯敏®,以及高质量的处方药,例如万珂®和善思达。这些药品用于治疗精神疾病、神经疾病、胃肠道疾病、肿瘤疾病、过敏类疾病和真菌类疾病等。

借助强生在全球研发领域的优势,西安杨森引进了创新、专利产品,例如国内目前唯一每月注射一次、用于精神分裂症急性期和维持期治疗的非典型长效针剂善思达®,精神抑制药芮达®和先进的生物制剂类克®,这些药物帮助患者改善了生活质量。

此外,西安杨森还与中国医学界合作在中国和全球建立了众多国际临床研究中心,致力于研究未被征服的疾病领域研究,例如艾滋病和肿瘤。

因爱而生

本着公司信条和关爱精神,西安杨森一直是活跃的企业公民,在医药、公共卫生、药物研发领域和企业社会责任方面从事了五十多项合作项目。例如,西安杨森与中国卫生部国际卫生交流与合作中心合作创立了“吴阶平医学研究奖和保罗•杨森药学研究奖”,旨在鼓励医药学领域的工作者不断创新。迄今为止,305名杰出医药学工作者在过去17年中,在中国的45个专业领域获得了该奖项,他们在科研领域做出了大量有价值的创新。

此外,西安杨森也被誉为制药行业人才培养的摇篮。1999年,西安杨森被《财富》杂志(中文版)评选为“中国最受敬仰的十大外资企业之一”。2005年,西安杨森被中国中央电视台评选为“最佳雇主”,并且分别在2008年、2009年和2010年获得了“中国大学生最佳雇主奖”。

投资未来

西安杨森一直致力于投资未来,发布和计划推出新药物,从而增加在生物制品、心脏病学、风湿病学和泌尿科学领域的产品系列。西安杨森致力于运用这些新药不断改善中国患者的医疗保健状况。

西安杨森注重长效经营,遵守企业信条中所体现的道德原则。这些共同构成了西安杨森过往成功的促进因素,也将成为西安杨森未来成长的重要因素。

关于保罗•杨森博士及杨森制药

杨森制药的故事从近60年前就开始了。地点是图恩豪特,具体是从在保罗•杨森博士父母公司三楼的一个简易实验室里。无疑是受了父亲Constant Janssen博士的影响,保罗博士在潜移默化中激发了自己的研究兴趣,进而又产生许多新的更具雄心的理想。尽管周围布满怀疑的眼光,甚至来自多方的公然反对,这个年轻的博士咬定青山不放松,对自己的目标和理想更加坚定:他要建立一个完全独立且自给自足的研究实验室。20世纪50年代早期,二战结束后医学得以迅速发展,条件看似十分有利。然而,风险还是不可小觑,因为保罗博士所能利用的资源非常有限,成功的机会微乎其微。尽管如此,凭借其自身厚实的科学基础,和对实现自身梦想坚定不移的信念,以及来自父母全心全意的支持和信任,保罗•杨森博士顽强地坚持下来了。

如今,保罗•杨森博士和全世界数以千计的现任及过往的杨森同事们都能欣然回首,去回望这个取得如此巨大成就的公司所走过的60年。这家拥有40多个海外分支机构的公司,已真正成长为一家为全球所瞩目的伟大企业,且在众多领域都已经成长为强生事业发展不可或缺的基石。追溯至1953年,仅靠着起初比利时东北部坎本区那般微薄的事业基础,让那些曾被众人认为不可能实现的愿望和理想在如今统统变为现实,杨森制药公司已经征服了世界,不仅如此,她在众多保健领域也做出了卓越的贡献。由比尔斯地区研究、开发、生产的药品,日复一日地,为世界各个角落数以百万的病人带去福音。

有关西安杨森的更多信息,请访问www.xian-janssen.com.cn